Lakers 2020 NBA Championship Winners

Lakers 2020 NBA Championship Winners


Alex W



Huge sports fan. Football & MLS fanatic. Lover of all things gambling - Sports betting, Casino, Poker and of course, Las Vegas.

The Los Angeles Lakers won the 2020 NBA Championship on Sunday night after defeating the Miami Heat in Game 6 of the NBA Finals by a score of 106-93.

This is the first championship for the Los Angeles Lakers since 2010 and the 17th in franchise history.

The 17 championships put the Lakers in a tie with the Boston Celtics for the most all-time. Boston has not won an NBA Championship since 2008 when the Celtics defeated Kobe Bryant and the Lakers in the Finals.

This was the most unusual of seasons in the NBA, and many questioned whether a championship would even be crowned in 2020. The title on Sunday night comes 356 days after opening night of the 2019-20 regular season.

After suffering a loss in Game 5, Lakers head coach Frank Vogel inserted Alex Caruso into the starting lineup in place of Dwight Howard. The move seemed to work as the Lakers led by a score of 28-20 after the first quarter.

BetRivers mobile app
21+. T&C Apply
21+. T&C Apply

Matched Bonus Up To $250

21+. T&C Apply

Miami has been able to bounce back throughout the playoffs, but the Lakers outscored the Heat 36-16 in the second quarter and led by more than 30 points at times in the first half. The second half was much of the same, and the outcome was never in doubt at any point in the final two quarters.

Heat star Jimmy Butler was held to just 12 points in the Game 6 loss after combining for 75 points and a pair of triple-doubles in the Heat’s two victories this series. Miami entered the playoffs as the fifth seed in the Eastern Conference but went on a remarkable run through the playoffs.

The Lakers were the first team in NBA history to enter the playoffs as a top seed after enduring a five-year absence from the postseason. Los Angeles lost just five games during the playoff run, with only the Heat forcing a Game 6.

James MVP Again

LeBron James was spectacular in the closeout game on Sunday night, finishing with 28 points, 14 rebounds, and 10 assists. His play throughout the series earned him the NBA Finals MVP Award, which was the fourth of his career.

James became the first player in NBA history to win an NBA Finals MVP Award for three different franchises, and he has also led those three teams to an NBA Championship. It is the fourth title for James, moving him just one behind Kobe Bryant, and two behind Michael Jordan.

Jordan is the all-time leader with six NBA Finals MVP Awards to his name, but James is now in second place by himself. James was previously in a tie with Tim Duncan, Magic Johnson, and Shaquille O’Neal with three NBA Finals MVP awards.

James is also the second oldest player in NBA history to win the Finals MVP. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar holds the record, winning the title at 38 years, 54 days of age.

Anthony Davis also averaged a double-double in the playoffs for the Lakers, but it was James that was the clear leader of Los Angeles.

For more casino and sports betting news across the US, follow us on twitter @Gamble_usa

Harrah's Casino

$10 Free Play & $300 Matched Bonus

21+. T&C Apply

Get BonusGet Bonus
21+. T&C Apply
21+. T&C Apply

Relevant news